Autor Thema: Media TV Digital Home III and T2  (Gelesen 18773 mal)

tednk

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Beiträge: 7
    • Profil anzeigen
Re:Media TV Digital Home III and T2
« Antwort #30 am: Mai 11, 2015, 09:13:30 Nachmittag »
Thanks for your answer.
Don't know exactly which setting you mean but I have tried two things.

First attempt
Setting in Sundtek Control Center: dvb-t2
Manual search on frequency which contains dvb-t2 channels with dvb-t as search setting.
Result: Nothing found

Second attempt
Setting in Sundtek Control Center: dvb-t
Manual search on frequency which contains dvb-t2 channels with dvb-t as search setting.
Result: Nothing found

Any suggestions what's wrong?

Sundtek

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Beiträge: 7704
    • Profil anzeigen
Re:Media TV Digital Home III and T2
« Antwort #31 am: Mai 11, 2015, 11:45:21 Nachmittag »
Try following on the console:

/opt/bin/mediaclient -D DVBT -d /dev/dvb/adapter1/frontend0

/opt/bin/mediaclient --blindscan /dev/dvb/adapter1/frontend0

this should give you a list of transponder frequencies which you are able to receive.
If you are missing channels try to adjust the antenna.
Sundtek Support Engineer

tednk

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Beiträge: 7
    • Profil anzeigen
Re:Media TV Digital Home III and T2
« Antwort #32 am: Mai 12, 2015, 04:44:04 Nachmittag »
I get 12 frequencies but not the frequency which is broadcasting in dvb-t2.

If I connect a new LCD TV which is DVB-T2 compatible to the antenna, I perfectly fine receive channels on the dvb-t2 frequency.

If I swap usb tuner and connect a PCTV nanostick 290e usb stick to the same vuduo2 I perfectly fine find the DVB-T2 channels if I search and I can also watch them with no problem.

If I then try to watch the dvb-t2 channels with the sundtek usb tuner on my duo2 (channel search done by pctv 290e), I can't get any picture.

(When I test I only have one usb tuner connected.)

Bug in drivers? Problem with hardware?

Sundtek

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Beiträge: 7704
    • Profil anzeigen
Re:Media TV Digital Home III and T2
« Antwort #33 am: Mai 12, 2015, 07:12:14 Nachmittag »
No there's no driver issue with those devices, try to adjust the antenna?

I'm not aware of any issue with DVB-T2.

You might doublecheck it with Windows, however Win&Linux are using the same drivers but maybe you'll get some different result who knows.
« Letzte Änderung: Mai 12, 2015, 08:12:24 Nachmittag von Sundtek »
Sundtek Support Engineer

tednk

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Beiträge: 7
    • Profil anzeigen
Re:Media TV Digital Home III and T2
« Antwort #34 am: Mai 13, 2015, 09:08:38 Nachmittag »
If I try to watch a dvb-t2 channel with the sundtek usb tuner on the duo2 I get 57 % in SNR level. So the tuner detects there something on the frequency, but I get black picture. 57 % don't seem much but if a watch a dvb-t channel I only have 37 % in SNR and no pixelation in picture. It seems that the sundtek tuner gives very low SNR values in Black Hole.

I have also tried the tuner in Windows/MediaPortal with same result. No picture on dvb-t2 channels but on dvb-t channels I get picture.

Can it be some tuning parameters that isn't handled correctly in the drivers?

Sundtek

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Beiträge: 7704
    • Profil anzeigen
Re:Media TV Digital Home III and T2
« Antwort #35 am: Mai 13, 2015, 09:52:28 Nachmittag »
No definitely not we have several customers all over Europe using DVB-T and T2 for quite some time already.
My guess is still that you might have to adjust the antenna or add an extra amplifier to it (usually that's not required, but possibly the frequencies really have a too low signal strength in your area).

T2 has been confirmed to work by our engineer in Germany, UK, Sweden, Finland, Norway, Ireland, Italy...

Also the sensitivity has been checked it is within a normal range, it can only be improved a little bit by adding some additional amplifier.
Sundtek Support Engineer

tednk

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Beiträge: 7
    • Profil anzeigen
Re:Media TV Digital Home III and T2
« Antwort #36 am: Mai 13, 2015, 11:21:13 Nachmittag »
If the signal strength is to low, how come it works directly in my lcd tv and with the pctv nanostick 290e?

Sundtek

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Beiträge: 7704
    • Profil anzeigen
Re:Media TV Digital Home III and T2
« Antwort #37 am: Mai 13, 2015, 11:58:53 Nachmittag »
Maybe the LNA of the 290e helps you, TV sets are bigger and definitely have more space for additional amplifiers, who knows how stable everything will be over some time.
However the signal must be really low on your side the only way out would be a better Antenna then.

We do not experience any issue with DVB-T2 on our side.

You are really the first one having such an issue, I would focus on adjusting the Antenna, or using a better one then.
« Letzte Änderung: Mai 14, 2015, 12:02:54 Vormittag von Sundtek »
Sundtek Support Engineer

Sundtek

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Beiträge: 7704
    • Profil anzeigen
Re:Media TV Digital Home III and T2
« Antwort #38 am: Mai 14, 2015, 12:23:13 Vormittag »
You might try to use this command to tune manually to DVB-T2:

/opt/bin/mediaclient -m DVBT2 -f 642000000 -b 8
Using device: /dev/dvb/adapter0/frontend0
Tuning to DVB-T2 channel
Checking for lock:
. [LOCKED]


(just tested with our old and our new units, this is the current test transponder in Berlin - and I usually do not have a good signal either at my place with any device nor with the TV)

or:

/opt/bin/mediaclient -D DVBT2
/opt/bin/mediaclient --blindscan /dev/dvb/adapter0/frontend0

This will be more intensive.
« Letzte Änderung: Mai 14, 2015, 12:33:56 Vormittag von Sundtek »
Sundtek Support Engineer

tednk

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Beiträge: 7
    • Profil anzeigen
Re:Media TV Digital Home III and T2
« Antwort #39 am: Mai 14, 2015, 11:31:51 Nachmittag »
I have tried out the command to manually tune DVBT2 and the command to blindscan DVBT2. No luck on either commands.

If no one has any other suggestions what to try, I will move the vu+ to a friends house which is equipped with a newly bought roof antenna. If the usb tuner can't find DVB-T2 channels there either, my antenna can't be the source of the problem.

Thanks for your help so far. Will report back my results.

tednk

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Beiträge: 7
    • Profil anzeigen
Re:Media TV Digital Home III and T2
« Antwort #40 am: Mai 21, 2015, 10:01:11 Nachmittag »
The problem with dvb-t2 and Sundtek MediaTV Digital Home III is related to the driver.

I had no luck with dvb-t2 at my friends house either, so then I tested the oldest driver from your download page. And with that driver both dvb-t and dvb-t2 worked as it should.


Then I tested a selection of linux drivers to figure out which work with dvb-t2 and which drivers don't work with dvb-t2.

All linux drivers, of those I tested, including sundtek_installer_150224.045219 and older work with dvb-t2.

All linux drivers, of those I tested, including sundtek_installer_150228.114609 and newer don't work with dvb-t2.


Can you please correct the code in the drivers so that a any new driver you release will work with both dvb-t and dvb-t2 frequencies.

Sundtek

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Beiträge: 7704
    • Profil anzeigen
Re:Media TV Digital Home III and T2
« Antwort #41 am: Mai 21, 2015, 10:39:10 Nachmittag »
Hi,

I don't see that there has been any change related to DVB-T2 during that time, according to our changelog we updated the ATSC driver during that time.
Also since DVB-T2 works for us this would be more than strange.

It would help if you could demonstrate the issue on your side while an engineer has a look at it via remote desktop.
Can you contact us via Skype (sundtek) or Chat (http://chat.sundtek.de)
Skype is preferred (the chat is not always occupied).
Sundtek Support Engineer