Willkommen Gast. Bitte einloggen oder registrieren.

Einloggen mit Benutzername, Passwort und Sitzungslänge

 
Erweiterte Suche

17794 Beiträge in 2132 Themen- von 3031 Mitglieder - Neuestes Mitglied: Gutz-Pilz

Mai 26, 2018, 02:09:43 pm
Sundtek Support ForumEnglishVU+ - VU Duo SettopboxVu+ Duo2 Tuner B problem with Sundtek as Tuner C
Seiten: [1]
Drucken
Autor Thema: Vu+ Duo2 Tuner B problem with Sundtek as Tuner C  (Gelesen 5634 mal)
CuriousCorn
Newbie
*
Beiträge: 4


Profil anzeigen
« am: Februar 10, 2015, 11:29:52 am »

Hi all,

I see that my issue has been discussed before, but the thread concerned did not give any final conclusion. So, I start a new thread.

I have a Vu+ Duo2 with the OpenPLI 4.0 latest image, with a USB Sundtek tuner installed as Tuner C and the latest Sundtek drivers installed.
 
All of the tuners (the two internal ones, A & B and the Sundtek, C) should be allocated to DVB-C.

But, Tuner C (Sundtek) appears to be in conflict with the internal Tuner B. If I set Tuner C to be DVB-C, then Tuner B resets itself as DVB-T (which is of no use), with the result that Tuner B then fails with "Tune Failed"

If I then set Tuner B as DVB-C, Tuner C then resets itself to DVB-T2..

As a result, I cannot seem to be able to set all three tuners to DVB-C! At one point, I was able to set all three as DVB-C, but then after a hard reboot, Tuner B came up as DVB-T. But, when I go into Tuner Configuration and select Tuner B it says it's DVB-C (which it is not). To get it back, I have to set it to DVB-T, click OK, then select DVB-C again. But then Tuner C goes to DVB-T!

I have re-installed the Sundtek drivers, but this made no difference.

Is there somewhere a configuration conflict, or something? Possibility that it's something on Sundtek's side? Might seem likely, given what I have to do to get Tuner B back to DVB-C. Why would Tuner B suddenly re-invent itself as DVB-T after a reboot?

I removed the Sundtek USB tuner last night, and then Tuners A and B were fine; both on DVB-C. I put the Sundtek back in, and then Tuner B got unhappy and went to DVB-T!

Please advise if I should send any further information that may be useful, or if you have any advice as to what I could do.

Thanks in advance and best regards,
CuriousCorn
Gespeichert
Sundtek
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Beiträge: 7665


Profil anzeigen
« Antworten #1 am: Februar 10, 2015, 11:41:08 am »

Did you install the driver using the Windows-Settopbox Installer?

Can you show us the output of following telnet command on the Settopbox

cat /proc/bus/nim_sockets

when things are not as you would expect them to be?
Gespeichert

Sundtek Ltd. Support Engineer
CuriousCorn
Newbie
*
Beiträge: 4


Profil anzeigen
« Antworten #2 am: Februar 10, 2015, 06:34:29 pm »

Hi Sundtek,

I did the installation with the Mac OS X installer.

Output from cat /proc/bus/nim_sockets (With Sundtek attached; Tuner B is showing DVB-T):

root@vuduo2:~# cat /proc/bus/nim_sockets
NIM Socket 0:
        Type: DVB-C
        Name: Vuplus DVB-C NIM(CXD1978)
        Mode 0: DVB-C
        Mode 1: DVB-T
        Frontend_Device: 0
        I2C_Device: 2
NIM Socket 1:
        Type: DVB-T
        Name: Vuplus DVB-T NIM(CXD1978)
        Mode 0: DVB-C
        Mode 1: DVB-T
        Frontend_Device: 1
        I2C_Device: 3



NIM Socket 2:
        Type: DVB-C
        Name: Sundtek DVB-C (III) (0/0) (USB)
        Frontend_Device: 2


This is the output when I set Tuner B to be DVB-C:

root@vuduo2:~# cat /proc/bus/nim_sockets
NIM Socket 0:
        Type: DVB-C
        Name: Vuplus DVB-C NIM(CXD1978)
        Mode 0: DVB-C
        Mode 1: DVB-T
        Frontend_Device: 0
        I2C_Device: 2
NIM Socket 1:
        Type: DVB-C
        Name: Vuplus DVB-C NIM(CXD1978)
        Mode 0: DVB-C
        Mode 1: DVB-T
        Frontend_Device: 1
        I2C_Device: 3



NIM Socket 2:
        Type: DVB-C
        Name: Sundtek DVB-C (III) (0/0) (USB)
        Frontend_Device: 2

This is the same, but after a reboot:

root@vuduo2:~# cat /proc/bus/nim_sockets
NIM Socket 0:
        Type: DVB-C
        Name: Vuplus DVB-C NIM(CXD1978)
        Mode 0: DVB-C
        Mode 1: DVB-T
        Frontend_Device: 0
        I2C_Device: 2
NIM Socket 1:
        Type: DVB-T
        Name: Vuplus DVB-T NIM(CXD1978)
        Mode 0: DVB-C
        Mode 1: DVB-T
        Frontend_Device: 1
        I2C_Device: 3



NIM Socket 2:
        Type: DVB-C
        Name: Sundtek DVB-C (III) (0/0) (USB)
        Frontend_Device: 2


Thanks and best regards.
Gespeichert
CuriousCorn
Newbie
*
Beiträge: 4


Profil anzeigen
« Antworten #3 am: Februar 10, 2015, 06:35:32 pm »

And just for completeness, here is the output of medicament -e

root@vuduo2:~# mediaclient -e
**** List of Media Hardware Devices ****
device 0: [MediaTV Digital Home III (EU)]  DVB-C, DVB-T, DVB-T2, REMOTE-CONTROL
  [INFO]:
     STATUS: STANDBY
  [BUS]:
     ID: 3-1
  [SERIAL]:
     ID: U140927094024
  [DVB-C]:
     FRONTEND: /dev/dvb/adapter1/frontend0
     DVR: /dev/dvb/adapter1/dvr0
     DMX: /dev/dvb/adapter1/demux0
  [DVB-T]:
     FRONTEND: /dev/dvb/adapter1/frontend0
     DVR: /dev/dvb/adapter1/dvr0
     DMX: /dev/dvb/adapter1/demux0
  [DVB-T2]:
     FRONTEND: /dev/dvb/adapter1/frontend0
     DVR: /dev/dvb/adapter1/dvr0
     DMX: /dev/dvb/adapter1/demux0
  [REMOTECONTROL]:
     INPUT0: /dev/mediainput0
Gespeichert
Sundtek
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Beiträge: 7665


Profil anzeigen
« Antworten #4 am: Februar 10, 2015, 07:31:54 pm »

Ok, this is very likely a topic for an OpenPLI developer. I forwarded it to pieterg in the openpli forum since he seems to be involved with the latest OpenPLI changes.
Gespeichert

Sundtek Ltd. Support Engineer
CuriousCorn
Newbie
*
Beiträge: 4


Profil anzeigen
« Antworten #5 am: Februar 10, 2015, 08:16:54 pm »

OK, thanks, let's see what happens  Smiley
Gespeichert
Sundtek
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Beiträge: 7665


Profil anzeigen
« Antworten #6 am: Februar 10, 2015, 08:21:57 pm »

http://forums.openpli.org/topic/36922-vuduo2-tuner-b-resetting-to-dvb-t-after-reboot/?hl=sundtek

let's stop this discussion here and continue in the openpli Forum with that, I think this is something that might affect OpenPLI and not our tuners but let's see.
Better to have the other guys involved.

For the record:

seems like this issue has been in the forum already but your post gives most details about the problem so far:
http://support.sundtek.com/index.php/topic,1647.0.html
« Letzte Änderung: Februar 11, 2015, 12:02:19 pm von Sundtek » Gespeichert

Sundtek Ltd. Support Engineer
Seiten: [1]
Drucken
Gehe zu: